Manuel Lettenbichler wins Red Bull Erzbergrodeo 2023

  • News

Red Bull KTM Factory Racing’s Manuel Lettenbichler has taken victory at round two of the FIM Hard Enduro World Championship, Red Bull Erzbergrodeo in Austria. In what proved a thrilling race, the German made it two wins from two starts in this year’s championship chase. Pushing him hard all the way, Husqvarna Factory Racing’s Billy Bolt took second, with FMF KTM Factory Racing’s Trystan Hart completing the podium.

In the FIM Hard Enduro Junior World Championship supported by KLIM, Rigo Racing’s Matthew Green was best with 11th overall, while TTR Squadra Corse’s Mitch Brightmore was next of the Juniors with 16th.


  • Manuel Lettenbichler takes victory at the Iron Giant

  • Matthew Green finishes as best Junior rider

  • In total 17 riders finished this year’s Red Bull Erzbergrodeo

With the Blakläder Iron Road Prologue put to bed, attention turned to Sunday’s feature race at the Red Bull Erzbergrodeo, round two of the FIM Hard Enduro World Championship. Ahead of the 12.00 CET start, all 500 qualified riders took their position on the start line at the base of the Iron Giant quarry.

For 2023 no course walking was allowed, meaning competitors had little idea of what to expect from the 35-kilometre-long track. And with outside assistance forbidden, getting a clean start and being at the head of the field would prove crucial.

Lettenbichler conquers the Iron Giant

As the flag dropped, FMF KTM Factory Racing’s Trystan grabbed the holeshot ahead of GASGAS Factory Racing’s Andrea Verona and Red Bull KTM Factory Racing’s Manuel Lettenbichler, with TTR Squadra Corse’s Dominik Olszowy slotting into fourth.


Drama didn’t take long to kick-in with Husqvarna Factory Racing’s Billy Bolt crashing on the very first climb. Remounting outside the top 30 put him immediately on the back foot. Upfront and the leading quartet of Hart, Lettenbichler, Olszowy, and Verona remained relatively unchanged as they cleared the first few early checkpoints. Bolt was on a mission though and after 20 minutes had joined Lettenbichler and Hart at the front as Olszowy and Verona dropped back.

Through the rocky Machine climb, Lettenbichler and Bolt were wheel to wheel and now pulling clear of Hart. With Olszowy fourth, there was a battle between Wade Young (Sherco), Teodor Kabakchiev (KTM), and Jonny Walker (Beta) forming for fifth.

At Udo’s Playground, checkpoint 17 of 27, Bolt overhauled Lettenbichler. Arriving at the notorious Carl’s Dinner boulder field, Billy pressed on and opened up over 100 metres of an advantage during the 35-minute section. However, a damaged exhaust would leave the Husqvarna rider limping through the following MOTOREX Highway climbs and Lettenbichler struck back with around 30 minutes of racing to go.

Passing Bolt, Lettenbichler put his head down and never looked back. Through George’s Avenue, Dynamite, and the final signature section of Lazy Noon, Manuel built up a 10 minute lead. With everything under control, he arrived at the winner’s enclosure as this year’s Red Bull Erzbergrodeo winner, making it two wins from two starts in this year’s FIM Hard Enduro World Championship.

Despite giving it everything he could, Bolt ultimately had no match Lettenbichler as the final kilometres unfolded. Soldiering his way home, Billy took a hard fought runner-up result.

Hart brings it home for Canada with third

The battle for the final step of the podium began to heat up during the final signature sections. Hart had a virtual grasp on third but couldn’t shake off a determined Walker. With the Beta rider keeping the Canadian honest, Hart crossed the finish line just two minutes ahead of Walker for third.


For Walker, fourth was still a very satisfying result having climbed as high as third at checkpoint 18 before Hart pulled him back in at Carl’s Dinner. Putting in a solid performance throughout the race, Sherco Factory Racing’s Wade Young completed the top five.

After a row two start, Jarvis Magpul Racing’s Graham Jarvis pushed through from a starting position of 60th to an eventual sixth, while GASGAS’ Michael Walkner used his home support to secure seventh.

Green best of the Junior class

Rigo Racing’s Matthew Green ended his race in 11th to top the FIM Hard Enduro Junior World Championship supported by KLIM category. TTR Squadra Corse’s Mitch Brightmore was the only other Junior rider to make it to the finish line within the four-hour time limit for 16th. In total 17 riders completed this year’s Red Bull Erzbergrodeo.

The FIM Hard Enduro World Championship continues with round three at Red Bull Romaniacs on July 25-29.

Manuel Lettenbichler (KTM): “To get back-to-back wins at Red Bull Erzbergrodeo and also my second victory of the Hard Enduro season is amazing. My start was fairly solid, and I got away with the top three straight away so I pushed hard. When Billy caught up, we rode together for a while and then he pulled away from me during Carl’s Dinner. But when I got past him again at MOTOREX Highway I put my head down and pushed on. It’s been an awesome day.”

Billy Bolt (Husqvarna): “I got a great jump off the start line but crashed on the first climb. It was probably the worst place to fall off. The next 10 minutes were a blur trying to pass so many people before we hit the first forestry section. I caught up to Mani and rode together. But I put a dent in my exhaust pipe and lost some power. In Carl’s Dinner I knew that was my best chance to try and pull a gap, so I pushed hard. But when I got to MOTOREX Highway I struggled on the climb, and kinda hit the wall. Mani got passed me again and I couldn’t go with him. I wanted to win, and I gave it everything I had today!”

Trystan Hart (KTM): “Finishing on the podium two years straight here is incredible. But if I’m honest I’m not super happy with my result, I did want a bit more. I led early on and was pushing hard. But I got a bit tight and then in the first hour I made a mistake by taking the wrong line. Fixing that burned a few matches for me and my energy dropped. I didn’t have much left after Carl’s Dinner, so I kept it together to get home in third.”

Jonny Walker (Beta): “Honestly, I’m super happy with fourth. A top five result was the target. The top two were on fire. In the end I was only two minutes from the podium, so I’m pretty pleased about that.”

Wade Young (Sherco): “It was a lot of fun out there. The beginning was tense and I ate a lot of stones mid pack. I got into a solid rhythm and kept chipping away at the race. I’m happy with fifth.”

Results: FIM Hard Enduro World Championship, Round 2
Red Bull Erzbergrodeo
1. Manuel Lettenbichler (KTM) 2:31:15
2. Billy Bolt (Husqvarna) 2:42:15
3. Trystan Hart (KTM) 2:57:09
4. Jonny Walker (Beta) 2:59:30
5. Wade Young (Sherco) 3:04:21
6. Graham Jarvis (Husqvarna) 3:13:55
7. Michael Walkner (GASGAS) 3:22:18
8. Alfredo Gomez (Rieju) 3:24:30
9. Teodor Kabakchiev (KTM) 3:25:00
10. Cody Webb (Sherco) 3:29:09
11. Matthew Green (KTM) 3:31:45
12. Sonny Goggia (KTM) 3:49:21
13. Dominik Olszowy (GASGAS) 3:51:59
14. Jack Price (GASGAS) 3:52:08
15. Dan Peace (Sherco) 3:55:58
16. Mitch Brightmore (GASGAS) 3:58:39
17. Will Hoare (GASGAS) 3:59:13

More Information

We are an exciting offroad motorcycle championship for EVERYONE. Our races are designed for all different skill levels. With professional and amateur competitors racing side-by-side, we welcome all enduro riders.


Gearing up for an exciting season of racing, the FIM Hard Enduro World Championship is set to enjoy unique, distinctive, and vastly challenging races. All events are open to amateur and professionals alike. Participants compete in different categories based on their skill level and experience.