laia.sanz_Wess 2019 Rnd3 – ErzbergRodeo_01865

Laia Sanz: “You’ve Got To Give Erzbergrodeo Everything!”

  • News

Laia Sanz is one of Enduro’s most decorated riders but 2019 will mark her first serious outing at the Erzbergrodeo for round three of the World Enduro Super Series.

Despite her countless Trials and Enduro World Championship medals, plus her world-renowned success in the Dakar Rally, an Erzbergrodeo Red Bull Hare Scramble finisher’s medal is missing from her CV. And it’s one she now desperately wants to achieve.

Under no illusion of just how daunting a task it is, Spain’s queen of Enduro is ready to give it her best shot and – fingers crossed – stake her claim in Iron Giant folklore…

Laia Sanz on…

…The Atmosphere Of Erzbergrodeo Is Amazing, It’s Bigger Than You Can Imagine

 “I’m excited for this one, I came last year with the Rally bike just to experience and enjoy the event for the first time and I was surprised by how big of an event it was – the atmosphere was amazing. It’s hard to imagine what it’s like until you come and stand in this quarry and look up at the mountain. Naturally, it motivated me to return in 2019 to compete properly.”

…An Erzbergrodeo Red Bull Hare Scramble Finishers Medal Is Missing On My CV

“Although I’ve done many different things in my career from Trials to Enduro and of course the Dakar, a finishers medal from this race is something I’m missing. I know it’s only a small thing, but to get one is a huge achievement and I’d really love one. Also, no woman rider has ever finished the Erzbergrodeo Red Bull Hare Scramble – I’d like to try and be the first.”



…I’m Under No Illusion Just How Tough It Is

“Last year I went to watch the top guys in Carls Dinner and when I saw the look on their faces, I realised then just how difficult this race is. It’s the toughest Enduro in the world for sure. They were some of the best Enduro riders and yet, in the middle of the race, they looked exhausted. You’ve got to give the Iron Giant everything.”

…Riding A Two-Stroke For The First Time

“Riding the two-stroke is very new for me – actually it’s the first time I rode one for Enduro. I last rode a two-stroke in 2004 for trials, so it’s almost impossible to compare. Regards the speed element for the prologue I don’t feel as comfortable as I would on the four-stroke, but otherwise it’s very impressive to see what is capable in Hard Enduro riding. I’m very surprised by where you can go with them with the right tyre and suspension setup.”

…Breaking The Race Down Will Help Me

“Everything about the race on Sunday is so hard, so I’m trying to break it down into small parts. Right now, I want to try and qualify on the front row – I think that will be a big help. Next is to get a good start and stay out of trouble on the early climbs. If you can do that it will save energy and gain positions. When you arrive to the harder technical sections you are able to have energy to get through them. If I can break the race down into small blocks and achieve those individually that will help for sure.”

…It Would Be Cool To Race Some More WESS If My Schedule Allowed

“For sure I would like to compete in some more WESS races if my schedule allowed, but the goal is always to do a good Dakar Rally. It’s a long process to prepare for that race – after this weekend we start to do some races with the Rally bike and then test full gas until January. It’s nice to see Spain host two rounds of WESS and I know the area of the BR2 Enduro Solsona well, so maybe at the least, I can get there to watch the race.”



Watch the Erzbergrodeo Red Bull Hare Scramble live exclusively on Red Bull TV and ServusTV Sunday June 2 from 14.00CET. Commentary available in English, German and Spanish with expert analysis from Darryl Curtis (English), Ivan Cervantes (Spanish) and Dieter Happ (German) with Busty Wolter for ServusTV.

Erzbergrodeo Event Coverage & Red Bull TV Schedule
Saturday, June 1
•   Ultimate Enduro Talk @ 19.00 CEST on Red Bull TV and YouTube
Sunday, June 2
•   Ultimate Enduro Talk @ 14.00 CEST
•   Main Race exclusive live on Red Bull TV (commentary English, Spanish and German) @14.00 CEST
•   Amateur Race live simulcast on YouTube and Facebook
Friday, June 8
•   26-minute Recap Program (EN) will be available on Red Bull TV
Friday, June 15
•   26-minute Recap Program (ES and GER) will be available on Red Bull TV

Find all Erzbergrodeo Red Bull Hare Scramble clips on Red Bull TV here.

Erzbergrodeo Red Bull Hare Scramble – Fast Facts
1762: Competitors who competed in 2018
500: Qualifying positions available for Red Bull Hare Scramble
180: Red Bull Media House crew producing the Erzbergrodeo Live TV shows
125: Time in minutes it took winner Graham Jarvis to complete the 2018 Red Bull Hare Scramble
116: Kilograms of starting number decals provided to riders
41: Time in seconds of Graham Jarvis’ 2018 winning margin
23: Competitors who finished in 2018
5: Taddy Blazusiak holds the most wins
4: Allocated time in hours to finish the Red Bull Hare Scramble course
1: There is only one Iron Giant!

2019 Erzbergrodeo Schedule
May 30: Mitas Rocket Ride Superfinals – 20.00hrs
May 31: Blakläder Iron Road Prolog – from 08.00hrs
June 1: Blakläder Iron Road Prolog – from 08.00hrs
June 2: Erzbergrodeo Red Bull Hare Scramble – 14.30-18.30hrs

2018 Erzbergrodeo Red Bull Hare Scramble Podium
1. Graham Jarvis (Husqvarna – GB) 2. Jonny Walker (KTM – GB) 3. Manuel Lettenbichler (KTM – GER)

Erzbergrodeo Red Bull Hare Scramble Past Winners
2018: Graham Jarvis (Husqvarna)
2017: Alfredo Gomez (KTM)
2016: Graham Jarvis (Husqvarna)
2015: Jonny Walker (KTM), Graham Jarvis (Husqvarna), Andreas Lettenbichler (KTM), Alfredo Gomez (KTM)
2014: Jonny Walker (KTM)
2013: Graham Jarvis (Husaberg)
2012: Jonny Walker (KTM)
2011: Taddy Blazusiak (KTM)
2010: Taddy Blazusiak (KTM)
2009: Taddy Blazusiak (KTM)
2008: Taddy Blazusiak (KTM)
2007: Taddy Blazusiak (KTM)
2006: David Knight (KTM)
2005: David Knight (KTM)
2004: Chris Pfeiffer (Gas Gas)
2003: Cyril Despres (KTM)
2002: Cyril Despres (KTM)
2001: Juha Salminen (KTM)
2000: Chris Pfeiffer (Gas Gas)
1999: Stefano Passeri (KTM)
1998: Giovanni Sala (KTM)
1997: Chris Pfeiffer (Gas Gas)
1996: Chris Pfeiffer (Gas Gas)
1995: Alfie Cox (KTM)

Erzbergrodeo Event Information
Facebook: Erzbergrodeo
Instagram: @erzbergrodeo_official
Twitter: @erzbergrodeo


Photo credit: Future7Media

More Information

We are an exciting offroad motorcycle championship for EVERYONE. Our races are designed for all different skill levels. With professional and amateur competitors racing side-by-side, we welcome all enduro riders.


Gearing up for an exciting season of racing, the FIM Hard Enduro World Championship is set to enjoy unique, distinctive, and vastly challenging races. All events are open to amateur and professionals alike. Participants compete in different categories based on their skill level and experience.