Wade Young1 Redbull Erzbergrodeo 2024

Josep Garcia Quickest In Red Bull Erzbergrodeo Iron Road Prologue At FIM HEWC Round Two

  • News
  • Riders blast up the mountain for qualification at Red Bull Erzbergrodeo

  • Spain’s Josep Garcia sets a time that can’t be matched

  • South Africa’s Wade Young best-placed FIM HEWC rider with fourth

Round two of the FIM Hard Enduro World Championship saw riders get down to business at Red Bull Erzbergrodeo for two days of qualification with the Blaklader Iron Road Prologue. With over 1,300 competitors entered in this year’s 28th edition of the Red Bull Erzbergrodeo, just 500 secured a place for Sunday’s all-important Main Race.

A wet start greeted riders on Friday morning for the opening run up the Iron Road Prologue. The rain made for slippery conditions and fortune favoured those brave enough to go full throttle on the gravel tracks that wound their way up the mountain.

Josep Garcia Rnd2 Erzbergrodeo

At the end of qualification on day one, it was Red Bull KTM Factory Racing’s Josep Garcia who set the benchmark. The Spaniard, who normally races in the FIM EnduroGP World Championship, was incredible in the wet conditions and went fastest by a sizeable 30 seconds over Germany’s Chris Gunderman (KTM). Poland’s Dominik Olszowy was next on his RIEJU Factory Racing machine and placed just one second behind Gunderman in third.

Young and Lettenbichler battle for championship points

The battle for the best-placed FIM HEWC rider was fierce, with Red Bull Leader Tread’s Wade Young taking fourth and Red Bull KTM Factory Racing’s Manuel Lettenbichler just two tenths of a second behind in fifth. Sherco Factory Racing’s Teodor Kabakchiev closed out the top six, ending his run less than one second behind Lettenbichler. 

Among the FIM Hard Enduro Junior World Championship supported by KLIM contenders, Friday saw 16-year-old Austrian Valentino Hutter set a sensational time. The X-Grip rider slotted into tenth overall, ahead of Suff Sella (Gomez Team) and Marc Fernandez (KTM). 

With Saturday offering the final chance to improve on position, riders were ready for one more high-speed run up the Iron Giant. However, the sharp end of the leaderboard saw positions relatively unchanged.

Manuel Lettenbichler Rnd2 Erzbergrodeo

Thanks to his incredible time from Friday, Garcia claimed the Blaklader Iron Road Prologue win over Gunerman in second and Olszowy third.

Although unable to better his time, Young’s fourth place result saw him claim three championship points in the FIM HEWC qualification. With Lettenbichler fifth overall and Kabakchiev sixth, they both secured the remaining championship points.

Hutter tops the Junior category

In the FIM Hard Enduro Junior World Championship supported by KLIM, Hutter ended qualification as the fastest rider. Sella was second, with Fernandez third. 

Championship leader Mitch Brightmore (TTR Squadra Corse) was one second behind Fernandez in fourth. Hugo Crozet (Beta) completed the top five. All five riders placed inside the top 50 overall to earn a position on the front row for tomorrow’s Red Bull Erzbergrodeo. 

After an exciting two days of qualification with the Blaklader Iron Road Prologue, all attention now turns towards Sunday’s Main Race, Red Bull Erzbergrodeo. Watch it live from 12.30 CEST on Red Bull TV.

Teodor Kabakchiev Rnd2 Erzbergrodeo Prolog

Josep Garcia (KTM): “It’s awesome to be back at Red Bull Erzbergrodeo. It’s an incredible place to be. It was so nice riding the prologue again, and setting the fastest time was perfect. For me though, this is where my race ends as I won’t be starting tomorrow. I’ve finished it twice already, so I’m happy enough to cheer my teammates on from the sidelines.”

Wade Young (GASGAS): “It’s been a strong start to round two. I’m pretty pleased with my run. Fourth quickest time is great and also to claim maximum points in the FIM HEWC qualification is perfect too. I’m excited for tomorrow now and ready to give it my best.”

Manuel Lettenbichler (KTM): “I’m happy with my time in the prologue. Fifth fastest is more than good enough for me. Conditions were slippery out there, so it was hard to improve on Friday’s time. Tomorrow is the big show. That’s what it’s all about for me. I’m focusing now to make the best job I can.”

Provisional Results: Round 2, Qualification

1. Josep Garcia (KTM) 10:19.563

2. Chris Gunderman (KTM) 10:49.806

3. Dominik Olszowy (RIEJU) 10:50.955

4. Wade Young (GASGAS) 10:54.174

5. Manuel Lettenbichler (KTM) 10:54.354

6. Teodor Kabakchiev (Sherco) 10:55.229

7. Jonny Walker (Beta) 11:01.355

8. Carson Brown (KTM) 11:05.115

9. Trystan Hart (KTM) 11:09.140

10. Michael Walkner (GASGAS) 11:10.507

Redbull Erzbergrodeo 2024
More Information

We are an exciting offroad motorcycle championship for EVERYONE. Our races are designed for all different skill levels. With professional and amateur competitors racing side-by-side, we welcome all enduro riders.


Gearing up for an exciting season of racing, the FIM Hard Enduro World Championship is set to enjoy unique, distinctive, and vastly challenging races. All events are open to amateur and professionals alike. Participants compete in different categories based on their skill level and experience.